Skip to content

Easy Square Skirt Tutorial

September 16, 2013

No, I haven’t disappeared! I’ve just been busy. I wanted to share this amazing skirt. It’s incredibly easy to make in about 30 minutes.

Funky Square Scarf Skirt

I made this skirt from a vintage Japanese scarf. I probably picked it up at a thrift store in Florida. It was pretty but I’m more of a circle scarf person. I figured it was the perfect size to use as fabric!

Scarf Tag

To make this skirt, you need a large square scarf (or some woven fabric torn into a large square), wide double fold bias tape, elastic (I used ¼” but just make sure it fits in the bias tape), and a sewing machine/thread.

  • Measure around you waist (or hips, depending on where it sits). Add 2 inches then divide by 4.
  • Fold the scarf in half then half again. You should end up with a corner that is the center of the scarf. This is the opening.
  • Using the measurement you calculated in the first step, make marks radiating from the center corner. You will be cutting out a fourth (¼) of a circle.
  • When you are done cutting, open the scarf up. The whole should be too big for you but that’s okay because you want to get the gathers!
  • Sew the bias tape to opening. Make sure you leave a small area to use as you casing! This tutorial is good if you have never worked with bias tape before!
  • Cut a piece of elastic the size of your waist (or hip) plus an inch. Thread through the bias tape casing then adjust. Sew the elastic together then stitch the opening closed.
  • That’s it. Seriously, you are done!

Scarf Skirt

I was not kidding when I said this was easy. It’s almost effortless. If you don’t like mini skirts, you can get another scarf or piece of fabric the same size…just sew the bias tape to both layers to make something more modest.

Square scarf skirt open

I am gobbling up the last warn days here in NYC. I’m not really a cold-weather person because I’m born and raised in the South. If I lived in Florida, I could wear this probably until November! However, it won’t stop me from wearing this at some point in the fall with some thermal leggings.

Scarf Skirt Twirl

Oh, and I didn’t mention it’s twirly! I love inexpensive projects and this probably cost me $1-$1.50 total, including all supplies. Now I have more money to buy Sunshine treats!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

