Skip to content

Tropical Terry Cloth Mini Skirt

August 3, 2013

Hello everybody! After not sewing for a while, I’m back at it. Last night I made an awesome new mini skirt!

Tropical Terry Cloth Mini Skirt

It’s so pretty and fun! This awesome terry was a gift from my favorite vintage fabric supplier. She always has the coolest prints and finds. When I opened up my box, this was the first fabric I saw. I was confused, as I didn’t order it at all.

Tropical Mini Skirt Window Shot

She probably knows my style now more than she realizes! The fabric is beautiful with tropical fish and coral! Coral is actually my middle name so I’m so excited to now own a garment with coral!

Funky terry cloth skirt

I gave the skirt an asymmetrical hem, and a fold-under elastic waist. The pocket is perfect for girls like me who HATE carrying a purse. It’s the perfect size for my cell phone and metro card. It also covers a big stain that was on the fabric. Finally, I left the bottom hem and around pocket edges raw so they will eventually get some fraying action. Made with a self-drafted pattern. This skirt is just fun to wear and matches perfectly with my coral-colored knee high socks (not pictured but basically the best socks ever).

How do you like the skirt? Anybody else here a lover of terry like me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2013 4:05 pm

    Love it! You know i love asymmetry so the hemline is perfect for me, so is the pocket. Great job!

  2. August 3, 2013 4:08 pm

    This is so cute, I love the pretty fabric. Xxx

Leave a Reply

