Skip to content

Bias Stripe Tube Top

July 10, 2013

I have been feeling pretty sick the past few weeks, which has meant staying at home and sitting or lying down a lot. Luckily, I have a few things to keep me occupied: reading long political articles online, Banjo Tooie on N64, and my sewing machine.

After messing up a few projects, frustration set in. I wanted to complete SOMETHING without having to work like a madwoman to fix it. I looked at this dress I pulled out of my ‘house clothes’ drawer. I purchased it for $5 from the clearance bin at a consignment store I worked at.

Anyways, it didn’t fit well. It was a size M, by Ann Taylor ‘Loft’ and it was rather shapeless on my body. So I decided to make it into an easy tube top:

Reconstructed bias tube top

The dress is a very stretchy cotton spandex blend. I simply removed the bottom half of the dress, made a casing, then added elastic. I think it took me 30 minutes total. I just love it…it will be perfect with high waist jeans once it starts cooling down. Until then, I will be lounging around the house.

You can make a basic tube top like this by just taking two rectangles, sewing together, and doing a casing on the top and bottom (or a band or a drawstring or easy straps). Effortless!

In the mean time, I’m going to go play some Banjo Tooie again and finish my almost-complete band t-shirt reconstruction.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

