Skip to content

Easy Knit Tee – Butterick 4922

June 29, 2013

Hello everybody! I finished a new project today 🙂 Remember the colorful primary plaid fabric from my previous fabric stash post? I decided to use it. I initially wanted to make a dress but decided I need some more cute tops. I mostly live in t-shirts and tank tops. So I decided to go for a more funky t-shirt. I used Butterick 4922 from the 1970s.

Butterick 4922 – from the Vintage Pattern Wikia

I used one that was actually a size up for me, size 20 with a bust of 42. I like to have a variety of tight and oversized tees. For this top, I wanted oversize. I shortened the length of the bodice to hit around my waist and shortened the sleeves.

Mixy Mitzy Knit Primary Tee Selfie

Self-shot wearing the tee!

I added orange rick-rack around the collar for contrast. I left the sleeves and bottom hem raw. I like that I can leave the sleeves rolled or unrolled, where they hit below my elbow. A fun, free-spirited shirt!

Primary Knit Tee Sleeve

I will probably be using this pattern again at some point. Very simple, and I don’t have to worry about finding my zig-zag foot…since I made it oversized, I was able to use straight seams 😛

Here's the tee hanging up on my garment steamer, sleeves unrolled.

Here’s the tee hanging up on my garment steamer, sleeves unrolled.

I need to start buying more vintage knits. I’m a very simple person when it comes to outfits. I like tees + skirts/shorts + tights or dresses. That’s 90% of what I wear.

On another note, there will be a shop sale next week, July 1-4 in the Mixy Mitzy Etsy store.

Mixy Mitzy July 4th SaleThis is the first big shop sale and probably the only one until fall so take advantage!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

