Skip to content

Cal Folger Day – Interview

June 11, 2013

Cal Folger Day is a Brooklyn-based songwriter born and partly raised in Washington, DC. The very first Mixy Mitzy model, Cal is a gorgeous babe with a beautiful voice.

Cal Folger Day

What part does fashion play in your life?

A friend of mine, whom I admire for the way she dresses, said to me sometime last year: The way I see it is, since you have to get up and get dressed every day regardless, you might as well do it well. That is, Since you have to button all the buttons, make sure the clothing is worth it. Yes — trying to be aesthetically happy isn’t superfluous, it’s very practical!


Who or where do you draw fashion inspiration from?
I draw inspiration, fashion & otherwise, from Bill Cunningham. (Watch his biopic Bill Cunningham New York by Richard Press; check out his narrated feature On The Street via nytimes.com.) By my nature I’m not too impressed by anything that a young woman wears, since she can’t help but look good. I’m more interested in anyone else, for instance more mature models, they’ve got a lot more constraints which is always good for creativity, and in terms of pure style they always have more gravitas. In fact I don’t really consider any clothing of young virile people to be an art yet, it’s still apple juice not wine. In fact I myself don’t get dressed, I just rehearse dressing.

Where does fashion and music meet for you?
Well they might meet or they might not, it depends. The clothes do make the man, though.

Favorite article of clothing:
I just bought my first 2 thongs at Target.

Favorite clothing brand:
Oh any brand is better than no brand, in terms of quality; my only criteria in a thrift store is having a reputable label, style, size, & function are way down on the list of priorities, you can always count on a Pendleton … hold the bus, I’ve thought of a single entity I’d be proud to promote, that’s nataya.com, she’s one I actually have followed over the years, a genuine weirdo, well-made garments; pair with sneakers.

Favorite band/musician:
I’ll just answer this question as a whimsical opportunity to direct traffic:  Cass McCoombs

Favorite album:
See above for disclaimer:  Any Other City, Life Without Buildings.

Favorite local artist:
St. Lenox and Tony Scherr

Favorite venue to play:
Why, the next one I’m playing at, of course:  Cool Pony, Crown Heights [Brooklyn].

Where can our readers find out more about you?
Ep. Drom-d’reau was released last month on 7″ vinyl and we are recording a second companion EP at the moment, which will be ready in August.Check Cal out at the below links:
calfolgerday.net
facebook.com/singcalfolgerday
calfolgerday.bandcamp.com
One Comment leave one →
  1. June 12, 2013 10:16 am

    I absolutely loved reading this! What thought provoking answers to fashion! I especially liked the part when Cal said ” Yes — trying to be aesthetically happy isn’t superfluous, it’s very practical!” I feel the same way. Going to share!

Leave a Reply

