Skip to content

My Summer Wardrobe #2

May 11, 2013

Completed another project. I rarely finish anything from start to finish. This time I whipped up Butterick 4237 from the 70s.

Butterick 4237

I used a 1970s Key West fabric. I bought this around two years ago at the flea market in Saint Augustine, FL. About 1½ yards with a little wonky extra for $5.

Key West Selvage“Butter Ballet by Martha – Screencraft Div. of Key West® Hand Print Fabrics Inc. ©”

I’d call it a steal but the fabric does have quite a few stains and such I had to work around. It was a challenge cutting and placing around those bits but worth it. It’s hard to tell when stuff is NEON over computers and my scanner hates vivid colors but the fabric is really bright. The butterflies are hot neon pink with some lighter neon coral and light pink and the background is red with white accents. The polyester is extremely high quality. I’m a polyester LOVER but I’m not a fan of most modern synthetics…they feel cheap compared to something like this. I feel very authentic making a 70s pattern with 70s fabric! I feel like I need to meet Lucy again after this top.

Completed Butterick 4237

Completed Butterick 4237

I must say, I’m not sure how I feel about this pattern. Mine is a size Large but I feel like it’s just so much fabric I could have probably worn a Medium or maybe even Small. My biggest issue and *headdesk* moment is that I used a medium-weight cotton for the lining (WHY!) and got lazy and didn’t pre-shrink it (no washer/drier in my apartment). The cotton lining did shrink after handwashing the garment but it’s still wearable. However, it still looks similar to the envelope front but I don’t think I should have lined it at all. Maybe I’m not modest but when I tried it on before the lining, the drape was beautiful. Okay, I’m not really modest. Regardless, the shape, I believe, was more beautiful before the lining than after. Overall, this was easy to sew but if I sew it again, I’ll probably ditch the lining or find a very, very thin cotton…like a lawn.

Eventually I might take the piece apart so that I can toss the lining into the scrap pile but that will require me ripping out LOTS and LOTS of stitching so I’ll save it for another day and just wear it as-is for now. Too bad, I was hoping it would have been worthy of my reception but not every project is a total winner! Someday though… 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jasanna Czellar permalink
    May 14, 2013 11:18 pm

    I just got some gold leggings just like those!!

  2. Peggy Greco permalink
    May 16, 2013 4:55 pm

    i LIKE THESE PATTERNS TO MAKE, ESPECIALLY CAFTAN!

  3. May 18, 2013 10:13 pm

    I love old patterns! I think I actually owned this one.

Leave a Reply

