Skip to content

FREE 60s Dress Pattern (Mixy Mitzy 1013)

April 25, 2013

Mixy Mitzy 1013

Today I’m releasing, 100% for free, a cute mid 1960s dress pattern. This pattern resides in my personal collection and, as of posting this entry, is not on sale anywhere online. It’s out of print. I edited the original pattern to create my own, which I am displaying here for you today! I make other PDF patterns too which are for sale in the Digital Patterns section. The one you are going to get today is set up just like those. If you like the pattern, feel free to buy more patterns so that I can continue to offer free ones on this blog.

The dress has a round neckline with a peter pan-like collar, kimono sleeves, hits above knee, elbow length sleeves gathered to cuffs OR short sleeves, yoke gathered to the bodice, straight bodice, and optional patch pocket(s) and tie belt. Some skills needed include hemming, gathering, interfacing, and basting. Made for a person with a 34″ bust, 26″ waist, and 36″ hip. In order to make other sizes, you must know how to grade. I highly suggest making a muslin before using nice fabric. As with all of my patterns, there is a ⅝” seam allowance [except on the tie belt where noted].

WHAT YOU WILL NEED:

  • fabric – amount unsure but probably over 3 yards if using just one fabric
  • interfacing
  • zipper – 16″ invisible zipper (check to see if your zipper fits)
  • one hook and eye closure
  • bias seam binding tape
  • shoulder pads – follow this tutorial
  • thread, pins

Pattern Pieces
Instructions

Because I do not have the envelope to the tissue pattern that inspired this dress, I currently don’t know how much fabric you will need. I’m also not including a cutting layout. All instructions are text only. Please note, the pattern pages are numbered wrong (some say x/25 pages and some say x/33…the first number will always be right, sorry!).

I hope you enjoy this pattern. Please post any questions you may have in the comments and I’ll respond asap. If you are feeling inclined, please take a photo of the finished garment and email it to mixymitzy@gmail.com OR tag the photo on Facebook. Feel free to follow the Mixy Mitzy blog to be updated on future free PDF patterns!

Thank you for visiting my blog. If you’d like to continue to see more free sewing pattens in the future, please help out by making a purchase from my Etsy store where I sell more PDF patterns along with paper patterns, clothes, and more. Your support is greatly appreciated!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

