Skip to content

About Me and My Beliefs (when it comes to clothing)

April 6, 2013

Image

I figured I’d post a little today about me and who I am. My name is Shiloh. I am 22 years old and I live in the Bronx. I love cats (Mixy Mitzy was named after my first cat), rainbows and neon colors, psychedelia, politics, music, and fashion!

Personal fashion has always been a way for me to make a statement to the world about who I am and all without having to say a word. Especially after working in a few clothing retail stores, I felt like most people just wear cookie cutter clothes of one another. It’d make me want to shake my fist in utter confusion when I’d see 3 people buy the same pair of pants in a day.

And this is where fashion and some of my political beliefs begin to combine. Most of the clothes sold in America are from sweatshops. We all know the story of people who are underpaid and overworked in these overseas factories and how many of them also employ child labor. These corporations do not have health and environmental concerns in any way when it comes to buying their store stock. On top of these problems, many clothes, when out of style, end up in the garbage instead of being donated or recycled. Corporations, although considered people by the government, are not humans and thus have no conscious or soul. Although in modern society it is nearly impossible to not have things in our homes in lives made in other countries, I believe that as humans, we should be aware of what is going on. And one of the easiest changes anybody can make is to wear either second hand, clothing made where the factories practice fair wages and offer health care to employees, wear things from independent craftspeople and artisans, or make your own clothing.

Clothes that are purchased in a corporate setting are not worth nearly as much as the price tag. These workers usually make $200 or WAY less a MONTH. I watched somebody at one of the stores I worked at buy a $75 shirt that was made in a third world country like it wasn’t even an issue. A TEE shirt. And it wasn’t that special. No handmade touches. No golden threads. That shirt was maybe worth $3-5, if that, after material, labor, and shipping to the United States.

I believe that that $75 could buy enough clothes to last a DEDICATED fashionista (not just a ‘regular person’) for an entire season. Or that $75 could have bought that one really special item you saw on Etsy curated or created by somebody that will last you a lifetime. And that is how people should think. You can have tons of style without adding to the profits of big retail giants. You are showing you outward respect for the environment, foreign labor, and your skills in making a fabulous outfit without resorting to overpriced jeans at a fashion retailer or buying even worse quality cheap clothing at Walmart.

I hope that people can see that if they do not know where to start or how to start changing things, it can start as easily, and cheaply, as your clothing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

